The Regional ECO-Dens

April 8, 2014 at 1:22 PM Leave a comment

Congratulations to all the groups from all over Ireland that faced the judges in ECO-UNESCO’s regional ECO-Dens in March. The first ECO-Dens were held in Armagh in Ulster and Cork in Munster. We held the final Dens last week with one in Galway in Connaught and two in our headquarters here in the Greenhouse in Dublin in Leinster. The judges were really impressed with all the action projects that have been undertaken to raise environmental awareness and make a positive contribution to the local community. There was a huge variety of projects pitched over the five days and the quality of the projects presented to us at the ECO-Den was extremely high. So well done to you all!!

ECO-Den finalists had to convince a panel of expert judges that their group deserves a spot at the ECO-UNESCO Young Environmentalist Awards 2014 Gala Showcase and Awards Ceremony in Dublin’s Mansion House on Tuesday 20th May. There, participants will get a chance to showcase their work, meet TV celebrities and win fantastic prizes.

In the next stage of the process, an external judge will review all of the project reports in detail over the next two weeks. We will then compile all of the results and hope to let groups know if they are going through to the Showcase and Awards Ceremony by mid-April.

Don’t forget to check our Facebook page where we have been uploading photos from the events –

Thanks to all our judges for your expert contribution to our event

The Ulster Judges

Nial O’Connor – Monaghan County Council
Joan Shine – SEELB
Liz Wallace – WELB Curriculum & Advisory Support Services
Feidhlim Ó Seasnáin – ECO-UNESCO

The Munster Judges

Kevin Ryan – Cork City Council
Michael O’Coilean – Kerry County Council
Sinead McDonnell – Limerick City Council
Elaine Nevin – ECO-UNESCO

The Connaught Judges

Sharon Cameron -Mayo County Council
Joan Tarney – Clare County Council
Louise Ryan – Galway VEC
Elaine Nevin – ECO-UNESCO

The Leinster Judges

Dean Eaton – Dun Laoghaire Rathdown County Council
Gary Brady – Longford County Council
Karen Mahon – Alupro Ireland
Aisling Crowley – Dun Laoghaire VEC
Dara Wyer – Kildare County Council
Mary Cunningham – NYCI
Stella McKervey – Department of the Environment, Community and Local Government
Linda Deegan – EPA
Brian Healy – CDYSB
Feidhlim Ó Seasnáin – ECO-UNESCO
Elaine Nevin – ECO-UNESCO


And a big thanks all our ECO-Den sponsors:
Clare County Council
Cookstown District Council
Cork City Council
Cork County Council
Craigavon Borough Council
Donegal County Council
Dun Laoghaire Rathdown County Council
Fingal County Council
Galway City Council
Kildare County Council
Limerick City Council
Longford County Council
Mayo County Council
Monaghan County Council
Waterford County Council


Also a big thanks to our Gold, Silver and Brozne sponsors

Gold sponsors: The Department of the Environment, Community and Local Government
The Department of Children and Youth Affairs

Silver Funders: The Environmental Protection Agency

Bronze Sponsors: Alupro Ireland
Dublin City Council

Best of luck to all the groups!!!

Here are some pictures from this year’s ECO-Dens!

,St. Kilians

St. Killian’s German School


South East Regional College after the Ulster ECO-Den

Mullavilly Students Mia Crowe,Amber Bothwell,Kate Segon,Maisy Corry,Jessica Greenlee,Jill Vogan,Holly Topley,Rebekah Shortt,Rebe

Mullavilly Primary School at the Ulster ECO-Den


Carndonagh Community School doing a planting workshop with Glenn at the Ulster ECO-Den


St. Josephs College, Roscommon at the Leinster ECO-Den


1, Abbey CS TY Students pictured at Munster ECO-DEN with their project ‘The Great Wall of Green.’

Abbey Community School at the Munster ECO-Den

Creative recycling

Tetrapack Wallets and Creative Recycling in Cork at the Munster ECO-Den


Our Leinster ECO-Den Judges

Green Teens

Our very own ECO-UNESCO Green Teens at the Leinster ECO-Den


St. Louis Community School, Kiltimagh at the Connaught ECO-Den

Moyderwell PS

Moyderwell Primary School prepping for their pitch to the judges at the Munster ECO-Den


Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Young Environmentalists on the Road The Young Environmentalist Award Winners 2014

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed

Share this blog!

Facebook Twitter More...

Want to receive lots of fun and exciting updates on the ECO-UNESCO Young Environmentalist Awards? Enter your email address below!

Join 19 other followers

April 2014
« Feb   Jun »

%d bloggers like this: