My Time at ECO-UNESCO

May 29, 2009 at 2:45 PM Leave a comment

Special Guest Post by Lisa Mooney, Communications & YEA Intern

My experience here at ECO-UNESCO has been amazing. It has been truly inspiring to work with such talented, enthusiastic people who are so passionate about the environment and want to make a difference.

I was first introduced to the work of ECO-UNESCO when I was in college studying for my degree in Environmental Science. The director, Elaine Nevin gave a presentation to my class describing how ECO-UNESCO was a non-profit organisation set up with the aim to empower young people to take action to protect the environment. I always had a great interest in environmental protection and environmental education and saw this internship position as a perfect opportunity to put everything I learned in college into practice. I have gained a wealth of knowledge about environmental education, living sustainably and how non-profit organisations wok. I learned that there are many ways to educate people on environmental issues using a fun, interactive and empowering approach.

The most enjoyable part of my internship was working on the Young Environmentalist Awards. Blood, sweat and tears went into the preparation but we had lots of laughs along the way! It was a great day and I was thrilled to finally meet all the teachers and students whom I had been constantly emailing and calling during the previous few months! My claim to fame was of course being Aidan Powers’s lovely assistant! I had the honour of not only handing the prize wining envelopes to Aidan but also acting as his bodyguard when all his female admirers swamped him! Congratulations to all the YEA 2009 participants and I hope you re-enter next year too! Your projects were inspirational and I hope to implement some of the actions into my own lifestyle and I will encourage others to do the same! For all those environmentalists out there, I would definitely recommend doing an Internship with ECO-UNESCO. You will gain invaluable experience and have a lot of fun at the same time. Best of luck!

-Lisa

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Congratulations Young Environmentalists! Check out Mercy Mounthawk’s Videos!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Share this blog!

Facebook Twitter More...

Want to receive lots of fun and exciting updates on the ECO-UNESCO Young Environmentalist Awards? Enter your email address below!

Join 19 other followers

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

