Washing Away the Monday Blues in Skerries

March 31, 2009 at 1:36 PM

It is a Monday afternoon not unlike many others, yet there is something stirring in the ECO-UNESCO office as I close down my computer, pick up my judges pack and head for my train to Skerries. Skerries Community College

I have a feeling that I know what is causing this buzz of energy to run through the guys and gals at ECO-UNESCO. We have just announced the 50 shortlisted projects that are going to have the exciting opportunity to showcase their projects in the Round Room of the Mansion House in May.

It’s the 10th Anniversary of the Young Environmentalist Awards launched oh so long ago by President Mary McAleese!  So we felt that a visit to as many of the shortlisted groups as possible to see their projects on the ground would be a fantastic way to lead up to the event.

With this in mind my journey from my office desk has found me at the doors of Skerries Community College who have always had solid community-based entries to the awards.Toilet Hygene group at Skerries Community College

I met the enthusiastic girls whose “Toilet Hygiene” for the community project has already seen them star on RTE’s ICE programme.

Presenting great new walks around Skerries!There was the group that discovered a passion for walking and whose brochure on local walks for people of all ages should get many more people out into the beautiful Skerries countryside.

It would be hard to forget my walk and talk with the Skerries Guerilla GardenersSkerries “Guerrilla Gardeners” with their Christmas Tree experiment and fantastic ideas about Bees, Green Houses and helping grow native species in the local area.

Flood Prevention at Skerries Community College

Lastly,  I spoke to a group with a passion for preventing flooding via a newly patented system that they had created.

After an hour in Skerries and my first Site Visit for 2009, I left with the quote of Pierre de Coubertin, the founder of the modern Olympic Games ringing in my ears:

“The most important thing is not winning but taking part”

Entry filed under: Co. Dublin. Tags: , , , , , , , .

We’re Hitting the Road! Double Date: Banbridge and Ofiaich


Share this blog!

Facebook Twitter More...

Want to receive lots of fun and exciting updates on the ECO-UNESCO Young Environmentalist Awards? Enter your email address below!

Join 19 other followers

March 2009
M T W T F S S
    Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

